I Got Burned.

Today, I had a heart to heart with God. If I’m honest, it was more of me pitching a fit than anything else. I begged God to tell me why he was doing  things in my life, and then I remembered:

I’ve been praying for God to use me and mould me into the person he would have me be. God moulds and refines us as a fire refines gold. That’s when I realized the true meaning of being moulded to God and His will. The flame from a candle isn’t enough to refine gold. It takes a temperature of 1,947.52 degrees f. When I asked God to mould me, I expected attending a few Bible classes, listening intently to a sermon, and reading my Bible would do the trick. And in some cases, I know it has. But it takes more heat than a flickering flame to change me, and that’s when I realized that when God works to refine me as fire refines gold, it’s going to BURN. Not the kind of burn when I touch a hot pan, or graze my neck with the straightener. I am talking about 1,947.52 degrees f. of fire, and it HURTS.

But that’s the whole point of being refined. For, “In all this you will greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith- of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire-may result in praise, glory, and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.” (1 Peter 1:6-7)

The wonderful thing is, I’m not like gold, because I will live on. I always pray that I go to heaven when I die, and bring as many people with me as possible. And for that, I will withstand any amount of fire.

Leave a Reply

